DataLatte☕
Best Calendly Alternative for Salons & Spas in 2026: Prices, Deposits and Limits
AI & Automation

Best Calendly Alternative for Salons & Spas in 2026: Prices, Deposits and Limits

Part of the guide: Hair Salon & Barbershop Marketing

July 22, 2026·Nataliia· 10 min read All posts
Calendly's pricing page lists $10 per seat for Standard and $16 for Teams. A salon booking tool such as Fresha lists $14.95 per team member, Vagaro $30 for the first calendar and Booksy $29.99. So the difference between a meeting scheduler and a salon system is often under $25 a month for a small team. The question is not price. It is what each tool does when a client wants a balayage with a deposit and a text reminder.
This guide is for salon, barbershop and spa owners in the US, UK, Australia and Canada. Every price below was read on the vendor's own page. Where a page was unclear, incomplete or contradicted itself, the entry says "confirm with vendor". Prices are shown in US dollars unless stated, exclude sales tax, and change often.

Where Calendly Fits, and Where It Stops

Calendly is built around meetings. Its pricing page lists a Free plan with one event type and one calendar connection, Standard at $10 per seat per month, Teams at $16 per seat and Enterprise from $15,000 a year for at least 50 seats. The page does not say whether the $10 and $16 are annual or monthly figures, so confirm with vendor. Standard includes unlimited event types, automated reminders and Stripe or PayPal payment connections.
That is a decent kit for a stylist who only needs consultations. The limits show up in the details:
  • Payments are per meeting. Calendly's Stripe help page says you turn on "Require payment to book this meeting" for each event type and set an amount. It does not describe deposits or partial payments for bookings; it says payment links that can collect deposits are in private beta for select users. Refunds are not processed by Calendly: you issue them through Stripe or PayPal, and Calendly's payments FAQ says it does not hold the money.
  • Tax is on you. The Stripe help page says Calendly does not calculate or collect VAT or sales tax, so tax has to be inside the price or explained in your terms.
  • Text reminders. The pricing page does not mention SMS for any plan. Calendly's own materials describe text reminders through Workflows, but they disagree on which plan includes them, so confirm with vendor.
  • Salon features. The pricing and help pages reviewed describe event types, calendars, payments and reminders. They do not describe per-stylist service menus, retail inventory, tips or client colour history. That may change, but those are the jobs a salon system exists to do.
If you are happy with Calendly for supplier calls and team meetings, keep it for that. Use a beauty tool for clients.

What to Compare Before You Pick

  1. Calendars and pricing per stylist. Is the fee per bookable person, or per location?
  2. Deposits and no-show fees. Who can charge them, on which plan, at what processing rate?
  3. Reminders. Are texts included or metered?
  4. Marketplace fees. Free listings can carry a commission on new clients. Our Booksy, Vagaro and Fresha comparison works through those fees.
  5. Processing rates. A 0.1 point difference on $20,000 of monthly card sales is $20. Our Fresha, Square and Vagaro fee breakdown has the numbers.

The Eight Options, on Published Prices

Acuity Scheduling: the closest step up from Calendly

Per Acuity's pricing page: Starter is $16 a month on annual billing or $20 monthly for one calendar; Standard is $27 or $34 for up to 6 calendars; Premium is $49 or $61 for up to 36. Payments through Stripe, Square, PayPal and Venmo, email reminders and custom client forms are on every plan. Text reminders, an appointment waitlist, packages and memberships, and gift certificates start at Standard. Every plan has a 7-day free trial. Best for a stylist or small spa that likes Calendly's simplicity but needs forms, packages and texts.

Setmore: cheapest per head, with a pricing page that needs checking

Setmore's pricing page lists Free for up to 4 users and Pro at $5 per user a month on annual billing. Free includes online and in-person payments but no deposits and one email reminder per appointment; Pro adds deposits, two reminders per appointment and 500 text credits a month for Pro team members. A Live Receptionist add-on is $99 a month. The page also shows other figures ($12 and $5, and an inconsistent table entry), so confirm with vendor which price applies to monthly billing.

Fresha: low subscription, pay-as-you-go extras

Fresha's pricing shows Independent at $19.95 a month for one bookable team member and Team at $14.95 per team member, with a 7-day trial. Online payments are 2.79% + $0.20 and in-person payments 2.29% + $0.20. The marketplace charges a one-time 20% commission (minimum $6) on a new client; bookings from your own link, Facebook or Instagram are free. Each plan includes 100 free automated texts and 50 free marketing emails a month. Add-ons include Client Loyalty at $59.95 per location and an AI Concierge at $99.95 per location. No-show and cancellation fees are listed as a feature with no amount, so confirm with vendor how they work.

Vagaro: reminders and listing included

Vagaro's pricing page shows $23.99 a month as an exclusive rate for the first 6 months beside a $30 list price, plus $10 per bookable calendar up to seven. Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders and a free marketplace listing are included, with a 30-day trial. Online booking works from Vagaro, Instagram, Facebook and Apple Maps. Payments run through Vagaro Merchant Services, and the page says exclusions apply.

Booksy: a flat fee plus per-user charges

Booksy's pricing page lists $29.99 a month plus $20 for each extra user, with a 14-day trial. Confirmations and reminders are free, and plans include 2,000 free SMS marketing messages a month. No-show protection features are included, with standard mobile payment processing fees applying. Boost, its paid discovery product, is free to turn on and charges a one-time 30% of a new client's first visit, capped at $100.

GlossGenius: flat processing, tiered plans

GlossGenius lists Standard at $28 a month ($24 on annual billing), Gold at $56 ($48) for up to 9 staff, and Platinum at $168 ($148) for 10 or more. Processing is a flat 2.6% on all plans, with no extra fee for Tap to Pay, card on file or manual entry. Standard includes a custom booking site, client notifications, email and text marketing, inventory and packages; Gold adds forms, Google booking and an automated waitlist. The page does not state Standard's staff limit, so confirm with vendor. A Reception add-on for AI call and text answering is $50 a month.

Square Appointments: strongest if you already use Square

Square's US appointments page lists Free, Plus and Premium tiers, but the monthly prices did not display, so confirm with vendor. Square's help article on processing fees lists tap, dip or swipe at 2.6% + 15 cents on Free, 2.5% + 15 cents on Plus and 2.4% + 15 cents on Premium, and online payments at 3.3% + 30 cents on Free and 2.9% + 30 cents on Plus and Premium. Card on file and manual entry are 3.5% + 15 cents on every tier.

Mindbody: classes and memberships

Mindbody's pricing page shows Starter from $79 per location per month, with higher tiers on request. Starter includes integrated payments, booking widgets and a listing on the Mindbody app; the Ultimate tier adds automated email and text campaigns and a 24/7 AI front desk. It makes sense for a spa that sells classes and memberships. For a four-chair hair salon it is more than you need.

Quick Comparison

ToolPublished price (verify)DepositsText reminders
Calendly$10 / $16 per seatPayment per event type; deposits not describedConfirm with vendor
Acuity$16 to $61, by calendars and billingPayments on all plansStandard and up
SetmoreFree; Pro $5 per user (confirm)ProPro, 500 credits
Fresha$19.95 or $14.95 per memberConfirm with vendor100 free a month
Vagaro$30 (promo $23.99) + $10 per calendarConfirm with vendorUnlimited, included
Booksy$29.99 + $20 per extra userNo-show protection includedReminders free
GlossGenius$28 to $168Card on file includedText marketing included
SquareConfirm with vendorConfirm with vendorConfirm with vendor
MindbodyFrom $79 per locationConfirm with vendorText campaigns on Ultimate; confirm reminders
Where the table says "confirm with vendor" for deposits, the pricing page reviewed did not state how deposits work. Ask for it in writing before you sign up.

The Math

Take a three-stylist salon. Every client figure is an assumption; the subscription numbers come from the pages above at list monthly prices, before processing and tax.
ToolMonthly subscription for 3 bookable stylists
Setmore Pro$15 (3 x $5, annual billing; confirm)
Calendly Standard$30 (3 x $10; billing cycle not stated)
Acuity Standard$34 (monthly billing, up to 6 calendars)
Vagaro$50 ($30 + 2 x $10)
Fresha Team$44.85 (3 x $14.95)
GlossGenius Standard$28 (staff limit unconfirmed)
Booksy$69.99 ($29.99 + 2 x $20)
Mindbody Starter$79
The spread between the cheapest and priciest is under $65 a month. Now test it against no-shows, using assumptions: 150 appointments a month, a $70 average ticket and an 8% no-show rate, which is 12 missed visits or $840. If deposits and reminders prevent a quarter of them, that is 3 saved visits, $210 a month. A tool that costs $25 more per month pays for itself if it saves just 0.4 extra appointments ($25 divided by $70). The subscription is not what decides this. Whether the tool lets you take a deposit and send a text without a manual step is what decides it.
Test Before You Commit
Use the free trial to book yourself three real appointments: a short cut, a two-stylist service, and a deposit-required colour. If any of the three feels clumsy, your clients will feel it too.

Which One Should You Choose?

  • Solo stylist on a tight budget: Setmore or Fresha. Check deposit availability on the exact plan.
  • Small salon with colour services and walk-in retail: Vagaro or GlossGenius, so inventory, reminders and checkout live in one place.
  • Already taking payments on Square: Square Appointments, once you confirm the US plan prices.
  • Social-media-driven barber or stylist: Booksy, with its fees understood. See our guide to turning Instagram into bookings.
  • Spa with classes and memberships: Mindbody.
  • Want the smallest change from Calendly: Acuity.
If you are comparing more generic schedulers too, our Calendly alternatives for business covers meeting tools.

Switching From Calendly

  1. Export your client contacts using Calendly's current instructions and check for duplicates.
  2. Set up services with real durations (including processing time for colour) and prices before going live.
  3. Turn on reminders and decide your cancellation policy and deposit rule.
  4. Book three test appointments yourself.
  5. Replace the booking link in your Instagram bio, Facebook page and Google listing. Google's Business Profile help says you can enable bookings from a provider in the Bookings section, that providers can take up to a week to appear, and that custom links give no performance data.
  6. Message your clients with the new link, and keep Calendly running for a few weeks so nobody gets stranded.
After the switch, use the reminders to chase rebooking. Our rebooking script guide and no-show article show what to send.

Do This Today

  1. Write down your stylist count, average ticket and monthly no-shows. Those three numbers decide the plan you need.
  2. List your must-haves: deposits, text reminders, retail, class bookings.
  3. Pick two tools from the list and open their pricing pages. Note anything that says "contact sales" or "exclusions apply".
  4. Start both free trials and book the three test appointments from the callout above.
  5. Ask each vendor in writing how deposits, no-show fees and marketplace commissions work on the plan you would buy.

FAQ

Q: Is Calendly good enough for a solo stylist? A: It can work for consultations. Its pricing page lists payments through Stripe or PayPal on Standard and above, but help pages do not describe deposits for bookings. For a full service menu, retail and tips, a beauty tool is a better fit.
Q: Which booking tool is cheapest? A: On published figures, Setmore Pro at $5 per user on annual billing and Fresha Team at $14.95 per member are lowest. Both have caveats, listed above, so compare totals including processing.
Q: Can I keep Calendly for non-client scheduling? A: Yes. Many owners keep it for supplier calls and team meetings while clients book through the salon tool.
Q: Which tool works best if clients find me on Google? A: Look for a provider that connects to your Google Business Profile bookings. Google's help page says you can add a provider or your own booking link, but performance data is not available for custom links.
Q: Where do SMS marketing and email fit in? A: Several tools include a monthly allowance of texts and emails, but allowances differ. See our guide to SMS marketing for hair salons and our email and SMS service.

Sources

Want help choosing and wiring up booking software? See our hair salon marketing page, our website service, or contact DataLatte.

Free for local businesses

Want this applied to your business?

I'll review your Google presence, local SEO, and ad accounts — and send you a specific action plan within 48 hours. No pitch, no pressure.

Want hands-on help?

See how DataLatte handles AI Agents & Automation for local businesses.

Learn more

✂️ Industry Guide

Hair & Salon Marketing Guide

View guide
Nataliia — local marketing expert
Nataliia

Local marketing strategist with 10+ years at global agencies — OMD, Dentsu, GroupM, and BBDO. Now helping small businesses get the same data-driven edge. Based in Europe, working with clients in the US, UK, Australia, and beyond.

About Nataliia

Want this applied to your business?

Let's review your current marketing setup together — free, no obligations.

Get Your Free Marketing Audit