On monthly billing, Jobber's entry plan (Core, 1 user) costs $49 and Housecall Pro's entry plan (Basic, 1 user) costs $79. For a five-person crew, Jobber's Grow plan lists at $299 a month and Housecall Pro's Essentials plan at $189. Both prices were read from each vendor's pricing page on 24 October 2026 and can change, so confirm them before you sign.
This guide is for small crews in the US: cleaners, landscapers, plumbers, HVAC and similar trades that quote, schedule and invoice jobs. It covers plans, users, card fees, contract terms and what each vendor does not state.
$49→
Jobber Core, 1 user, monthly
getjobber.com/pricing, 24 Oct 2026
$79→
Housecall Pro Basic, 1 user, monthly
housecallpro.com/pricing, 24 Oct 2026
$299→
Jobber Grow, 5 users, monthly
getjobber.com/pricing, 24 Oct 2026
$189→
Housecall Pro Essentials, 5 users, monthly
housecallpro.com/pricing, 24 Oct 2026
Estimates for illustration; actual numbers vary.
How Much Does Jobber Cost?
Jobber sells by plan and by number of users. Core covers 1 user at $49 a month on monthly billing, or $21 a month when paid annually (the page says the annual price applies to the first 12 months, then renews at $29). Connect with 1 user is $139 monthly. Grow with 1 user is $199 monthly, and with 5 users $299.
Plus starts at 5 users and $499 monthly. Extra users cost $29 a month on any plan. Larger teams and multi-location businesses are sent to sales.
Features stack up the tiers. Core has online booking, quotes, invoices with online payments and reporting. Connect adds client reminders, automatic payment collection and QuickBooks Online sync. Grow adds two-way SMS, job costing and workflow automations.
How Much Does Housecall Pro Cost?
Housecall Pro lists three plans. Basic is $79 a month on monthly billing or $59 on annual billing, with 1 user. Essentials is $189 monthly or $149 annual, with 5 users. Max is $329 monthly or $299 annual, with 8 users and $35 a month for each extra user.
The page does not show a price for extra users on Basic or Essentials. Ask sales before you plan around hiring.
Basic includes online booking, invoices, scheduling and dispatch, quotes and review management. Essentials adds routes, flat-rate pricing, GPS tracking and QuickBooks Online sync. Max adds recurring service plans, route optimization and open API access.
What Are the Contract Terms?
Jobber states its terms in detail. Monthly billing with no commitment can be cancelled any time. A monthly plan with a one-year commitment keeps billing until the 12 months end. An annual prepaid plan is billed upfront, and Jobber says the initial payment is non-refundable. All subscriptions auto-renew unless you turn renewal off.
Housecall Pro says there are no long-term contracts and you can cancel any time. Its page does not say what happens to a prepaid annual plan if you cancel early. That is a question to put in writing before you pick annual billing.
Both vendors offer a 14-day trial without a credit card. Jobber's trial is on the Grow plan. Housecall Pro's FAQ says its trial gives access to Max features.
What Do Card Payments Cost on Each?
Card fees often matter more than the subscription. Jobber lists 2.9% plus 30 cents for cards, 2.7% plus 30 cents for Tap to Pay, 1% for US bank payments and an extra 1% for instant payouts.
Housecall Pro says card processing starts at 2.59% and bank payments carry a 1% fee. The word "starts" means your rate may differ. The page does not show a per-transaction fee, so ask for your exact rate in writing.
Both vendors also list paid add-ons. Jobber shows Marketing Suite at $99 a month, Pipeline at $49 and AI Receptionist at $29. Housecall Pro lists add-ons such as Payroll, Voice and Campaigns without prices on its page.
Which One Fits Which Crew?
Use this rule as a starting point, and check it against your own numbers.
- Solo owner, quotes and invoices only: Jobber Core is the cheaper entry point on its list prices, and the annual rate is the lowest on either page.
- Two to five people who need job costing and QuickBooks: compare Jobber Grow with Housecall Pro Essentials. Housecall Pro's list price is lower, but check the card rate first.
- Six to eight people, recurring service plans: Housecall Pro Max includes 8 users. Jobber Plus is the nearest tier.
- Heavy card volume: pick the vendor with the lower written card rate, because that can outweigh the subscription gap.
If you already advertise to fill the schedule, software will not fix a thin pipeline. Read our
Google Ads guide for contractors and the
Local Services Ads guide for lead sources.
What Does a Five-Person Crew Pay? A Worked Example
All inputs here are assumptions, not vendor figures: five users, $20,000 a month collected by card, 80 invoices a month, and a plan choice of Jobber Grow versus Housecall Pro Essentials. Housecall Pro's rate is taken as the 2.59% starting rate, and its per-transaction fee is unknown, so it is left out.
| Jobber Grow, 5 users | Housecall Pro Essentials, 5 users |
|---|
| Subscription, monthly billing | $299 x 12 = $3,588 | $189 x 12 = $2,268 |
| Subscription, annual billing | $161 x 12 = $1,932 (year 1) | $149 x 12 = $1,788 |
| Card percentage | 2.9% of $20,000 = $580 a month | 2.59% of $20,000 = $518 a month |
| Card fixed fee | 80 x $0.30 = $24 a month | not stated |
| Card fees per year | $7,248 | $6,216 plus any fixed fee |
On annual billing the subscriptions differ by about $144 in year one. Jobber's renewal at $229 a month would be $2,748 a year. The card line differs by about $1,032 a year, before any per-transaction fee on the Housecall Pro side.
The takeaway: compare total cost, not the plan price. Features such as two-way SMS or route optimization may be worth more to you than a few hundred dollars.
What Do the Vendors Not Publish?
Neither pricing page answers every question owners ask. Items to confirm with sales:
- Housecall Pro: extra-user price on Basic and Essentials, per-transaction card fee, the terms of its introductory offers, and early cancellation on annual plans.
- Jobber: whether the introductory monthly rates shown for the first 3 months apply to your plan, and the sales-only pricing above 15 users.
- Both: payout timing and chargeback fees, which neither page covered.
Also keep in mind that your customers find you before software matters. A strong profile and steady reviews help, so see our
Google Business Profile reviews guide. If you track leads in a spreadsheet today, our
CRM for local businesses guide explains when to move.
FAQ
Is Jobber cheaper than Housecall Pro?
For one user, yes on list prices: $49 against $79 on monthly billing. For five users, Housecall Pro Essentials lists at $189 against $299 for Jobber Grow. The feature sets are not identical, so compare what you need.
Do Jobber and Housecall Pro offer a free trial?
Both offer 14 days without a credit card, according to their pricing pages on 24 October 2026.
Can I cancel Jobber or Housecall Pro any time?
Jobber allows cancellation on no-commitment monthly plans, while annual prepaid payments are non-refundable. Housecall Pro says there are no long-term contracts, but does not state the annual-plan refund rule.
Do they sync with QuickBooks?
Yes. Jobber lists QuickBooks Online sync from the Connect plan, and Housecall Pro from the Essentials plan.
What is the cheapest way to start?
Run the trial with your real jobs, then price the plan you actually need, including users and card fees.
Sources
- Jobber pricing (plans, users, add-ons, card fees, contract terms; read 24 Oct 2026)
- Housecall Pro pricing (plans, users, trial, card and bank rates; read 24 Oct 2026)
Want help turning software and ads into booked jobs? See our
Google Ads service or
book a free audit.
Free for local businesses
Want this applied to your business?
I'll review your Google presence, local SEO, and ad accounts — and send you a specific action plan within 48 hours. No pitch, no pressure.