GitHub Copilot Pricing 2026: Plans and AI Credits
Copilot plan prices
Free plan per month
2,000 completions a month
Pro plan per month
1,500 AI credits a month
Pro+ plan per month
7,000 AI credits a month
Max plan per month
20,000 AI credits a month
Source: GitHub Copilot plans page and GitHub Docs, opened 7 November 2026
How Much Does GitHub Copilot Cost?
| Plan | Price | Monthly AI credits (GitHub Docs) | What the plans page adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | An allowance, amount not stated | 2,000 completions a month, entry-level models, agent mode and Copilot CLI included |
| Pro | $10 per user a month | 1,000 base + 500 flex = 1,500 | Unlimited inline suggestions, Copilot in the cloud, code review, model selection |
| Pro+ | $39 per user a month | 3,900 base + 3,100 flex = 7,000 | Everything in Pro, premium models including Opus, audit logs, "4x+ included usage than Pro" |
| Max | $100 per user a month | 10,000 base + 10,000 flex = 20,000 | Everything in Pro+, priority access to new models, "2.9x+ included usage than Pro+" |
GitHub counts Copilot usage in AI credits worth one US cent each, so the $10 Pro plan carries $15 of total credits
The flex part of the allowance is described as able to change as AI costs change. Code completions and next edit suggestions do not use credits.
GitHub Copilot plans page and GitHub Docs, opened 7 November 2026
What Are AI Credits and What Happens When They Run Out?
- Upgrade. Pay only the price difference to the next tier. Usage earlier in the cycle counts toward the new allowance.
- Set an extra-usage budget. Pay by the dollar for more credits. The page notes this may be capped.
- Wait. The allowance returns next month.
What Is GitHub Copilot and How Does It Work?
Which Models Does Copilot Offer?
What Can a Small Business Use It For?
- Editing the text, opening hours or prices in a simple site's files.
- Explaining what a snippet from a booking widget or tracking tag does.
- Drafting a small script that tidies a list of customer records or merges two spreadsheets.
- Asking for a plain-language summary of a code change a freelancer made.
What Would It Cost? A Worked Example
| Line | Assumption | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | One month to try it | $0 |
| Pro plan | Two months at $10 | $20 |
| Pro+ plan | One month at $39 if the credits run out | $39 |
| Total | $59 |
What Are the Risks and Limits?
- Allowance, not unlimited. Chat and agent work is metered in credits, and the Free allowance amount is not stated.
- Extra usage bills later. Spending above the allowance is billed after it occurs, so set a budget.
- Features by plan. The plans page lists cloud agent, code review and assigning work to Copilot as not included on Free.
- Not on individual plans. Enterprise security, IP indemnity, SAML single sign-on, usage metrics and user management on github.com are listed as not included on individual plans.
- Review. GitHub's own wording is that Copilot prepares changes "for your review". Treat them as drafts.
How Does Copilot Compare With the Other AI Tools?
| Tool | Free option | Lowest paid price confirmed | Kind | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Not included on Free plan | Pro $20 a month ($17 on annual billing) | Coding agent: terminal, editors, desktop app, web | Claude Code guide |
| OpenAI Codex | Free plan with quick coding tasks | Go $8 a month, Plus $20 a month | Coding agent: desktop app, web, CLI, IDE extension | Codex guide |
| Meta Muse Code | None listed on the pages opened | Everyday Usage $5 a month | Coding agent: terminal and CI | Muse Code guide |
| Grok Build | Not confirmed | Not confirmed (x.ai pricing page returned an error) | Coding agent: terminal; web and mobile per xAI post | Grok Build guide |
| Google Antigravity | Individuals plan at $0 | Google AI Pro, $19.99 a month per Google's plan page calculator | Coding agent: desktop app | Antigravity guide |
| Cursor | Free, limited usage | Plus $8 a month | AI code editor | Cursor guide |
| GitHub Copilot | Free: 2,000 completions a month | Pro $10 a month | Assistant inside editors and GitHub | Copilot guide |
| Windsurf (Devin Desktop) | Free, $0, light agent quota | Pro $20 a month | AI code editor | Windsurf guide |
| Replit Agent | Starter, free, daily Agent credits with a monthly cap | Core $20 a month ($18 billed annually) | App builder from chat, with publishing | Replit guide |
| Lovable | Free: 5 daily credits, up to 30 a month | Pro from $25 a month ($21 billed annually) | App builder from chat, Git sync | Lovable guide |
| Bolt.new | Free: 1M tokens a month, 300K a day | Pro $25 a month | App builder from chat, built-in hosting | Bolt.new guide |
FAQ
Is GitHub Copilot free?
How much does GitHub Copilot cost per month?
What are premium requests in Copilot?
What happens when Copilot credits run out?
Is GitHub Copilot worth it for a small business?
Sources
- GitHub Copilot plans, github.com/features/copilot/plans
- Plans for GitHub Copilot, docs.github.com
- Usage-based billing for individuals, docs.github.com
- What is GitHub Copilot, docs.github.com
- Cursor pricing, cursor.com/pricing (comparison row)
Free for local businesses
Want this applied to your business?
I'll review your Google presence, local SEO, and ad accounts — and send you a specific action plan within 48 hours. No pitch, no pressure.
Want hands-on help?
See how DataLatte handles AI Agents & Automation for local businesses.

Local marketing strategist with 10+ years at global agencies — OMD, Dentsu, GroupM, and BBDO. Now helping small businesses get the same data-driven edge. Based in Europe, working with clients in the US, UK, Australia, and beyond.
Want this applied to your business?
Let's review your current marketing setup together — free, no obligations.
Get Your Free Marketing Audit